Loop Head Light House
There has been a lighthouse at Loop Head since 1670, originally a signal fire on the roof of a single-story cottage (which can still be seen on the grounds), where the light keeper lived.
The present tower, which stands 23 metres high, was built in 1854. The range of the light is 23 nautical miles and its ‘character’ is a white light flashing four times in 20 seconds. The operation was converted to electricity in 1971, and automated in 1991.
An exhibition on the history of Irish Lighthouses is located in the Light Keeper’s Cottage. Visitors can take a guided tour up the tower and go out onto the balcony, from where, weather permitting, you can see south as far as the Blasket Islands and north to the Twelve Pins in Connemara, along the Wild Atlantic Way.
Loop Head lighthouse will be closed for the 2021 Season to facilitate upgrading of the public water supply and other essential works. For direct enquiries contact Clare County Council at firstname.lastname@example.org